August 22, 2016

Customer Service
Office: (713) 274-8000

Parents Who Owe Child Support Can’t Renew Registration

Texas Attorney General Enacting New Mandate Next Month

Tax Assessor-Collector Mike Sullivan will begin carrying out a new government mandate from the Texas Attorney General’s Office, denying certain parent’s vehicle registration if they are behind on child support payments.

“I want to urge the public to be aware this law is taking effect, to be prepared and to get in touch with the Attorney General’s office to take care of their obligations,” said Harris County Tax Assessor-Collector Mike Sullivan.

Beginning in September, parents who are 180 days behind on child support payments will be denied the ability to register their automobiles.

“This is an administrative office. We are now being directed to act as enforcement for the Texas Attorney General and the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles and that concerns me,” said Sullivan.

The Texas Attorney General will notify parents 90 days prior to their registration renewal date, warning them their registration will not be processed unless they contact the OAG to setup a payment plan. They must make a satisfactory payment toward the plan to qualify.

“Texas children deserve financial assistance. I understand and support the intent of the law. On the other hand, I am concerned this will extend our wait times, create longer lines and lead to more vehicles on the road without valid registrations,” said Sullivan.

The Harris County Tax Assessor-Collector’s Office Automobile Division performs more than 4.5 million automobile transactions each year. It serves as an agent for the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, assisting in motor vehicle registration, registration and title fee collections and distribution to proper entities. Learn more about the Automobile Services Division by visiting www.hctax.net.